Commonwealth Games Australia
Level 2, 180 Albert Road
South Melbourne
Victoria 3205

PO Box 586
South Melbourne
Victoria 3205
+61 3 9453 9300
Ben Houston
Chief Executive Officer
Craig Phillips

Australia officially became a member of the Commonwealth of Nations in 1931 under the Statute of Westminster having become independent of the United Kingdom in 1901.

Australia is one of only six countries to have competed in all of the Commonwealth Games held since 1930. Their impressive international record extends to its participation in every Olympic Games in the modern era as well as each edition of the Commonwealth Youth Games which started in 2000.

At the first Games in 1930 Australia they won only 8 medals; but at the 2010 Games in Delhi, India they won a total of 180 medals, 74 of which were gold, followed by a strong performance in Glasgow with 137 medals in total (of which 49 were Gold).

Australia has hosted the Commonwealth Games four times with the most recent edition taking place in the city of Melbourne in 2006. This home advantage delivered their best ever Games performance, with 221 medals won.  They will host the Games for a fifth time when Queensland’s Gold Coast hosts the 21st edition of the Games from 4-15 April 2018.

Commonwealth Games Australia (CGA) organises their participation in the Commonwealth Games and Commonwealth Youth Games and is a separate entity to the Australian Olympic Committee.