Commonwealth Games FederationCommonwealth Games Federation

Brunei Darussalam

Brunei Darassalam became members of the Commonwealth during 1984 and in the same year established a National Olympic Committee. However they did not compete in their first Commonwealth Games until the 1990 Games held in Auckland, New Zealand.

Since that 1990 inauguration Brunei Darussalam has competed in every Games including the 1998 Kuala Lumpa Games in Malaysia - a neighbour that divides Brunei geographically with the state of Sarawak.

Brunei Darassalam continues to develop as a sporting nation and successfully hosted the 1999 South East Asian (SEA) Games.

Brunei Darussalam National Olympic Council© Getty Images

Capital - Bandar Seri Begawan
Population - 392,000
Time Zone - GMT +08:00
Language - Malay, English, Chinese
Currency - Bruneian Dollar (B$)

Brunei Darussalam

Brunei Darussalam National Olympic Council



PO Box 2008
Bandar Seri Begawan
Brunei Darussalam
BS 8674
Tel: +(673) 2 380 039
Fax: +(673) 2 382 451

President HRH Prince Haji Sufri Bolkiah
Secretary Awg Japar bin Bangkol