Commonwealth Games FederationCommonwealth Games Federation


The Republic of Cameroon is a former French territory bordering six nations in the West of Africa. It became a member of the Commonwealth in 1995 and has competed in every Commonwealth Games since.

They made an immediate on their debut in Kuala Lumpur in 1998 picking up six medals, a haul they tripled in Manchester in 2002 winning a total of eighteen medals, nine of which were gold. At the 2006 Games in Melbourne a silver and two bronze medals added to their overall Games tally with the 2010 Games in Delhi yielding a further two silver and four bronze.  

Cameroon has an outstanding record in international sport and are recognised as one of the premier football nations in the world after impressive results at World Cup and Olympic Games competitions. The National Olympic Committee (NOC) of Cameroon was formed in 1983 and formally recognised during 1994.

The NOC looks after all matters concerning the Cameroon's participation in the Commonwealth Games and the Commonwealth Youth Games.

National Olympic Committee of Cameroon© Getty Images

Capital - Yaounde
Population - 19,088,000
Time Zone - GMT +01:00
Language - English, French, 24 other African languages
Currency - Communaute Financiere Africaine (CFA) Franc


National Olympic Committee of Cameroon



B.P. 528
Tel: + (237) 2221 2205
Tel: + (237) 7750 0375
Fax: + (237) 2221 2206

President Col. Hamad Kalkaba Malboum
Secretary General David Ojong