Commonwealth Games FederationCommonwealth Games Federation

Cook Islands

The Cooks Islands archipelago lies in the South Pacific and is self governing in free association with New Zealand. There are 15 islands in total of which 13 are inhabited.

Having first attended the Commonwealth Games in 1974 the Cook Islands did not compete again in the Games until 1986 in Edinburgh, the same year their National Olympic Committee was formally recognised. Since then they have taken part in every Commonwealth Games.

The Cook Islands National Olympic Committee is responsible for the country's participation in the Commonwealth Games and the Commonwealth Youth Games.

Cook Islands Sports & Olympic Association Inc.© Getty Images

Capital - Avarua
Population - 20,407
Time Zone - GMT -10:00
Language - English, Maori
Currency - New Zealand Dollar (NZ$)

Cook Islands

Cook Islands Sports & Olympic Association Inc.



P.O Box 569
Cook Islands
Tel: + (682) 24095
Fax: + (682) 22095

President Hugh Graham
Secretary General Ribert graham