Commonwealth Games FederationCommonwealth Games Federation


The landlocked Republic of Malawi is bordered by three fellow Commonwealth nations, Zambia to the north west, Tanzania to the north east and Mozambique to the east, south and west.

Malawi entered the Commonwealth in 1964 and made its debut in the 1970 Commonwealth Games in Edinburgh, Scotland.  They have competed in all Commonwealth Games since then. This narrow south-eastern African country, shaped by the dramatic Rift Valley, won a boxing bronze medal on its debut and returned to Scotland in 1986 to win two more boxing medals. In Delhi in 2010 they took part in ten different sports.

Based in the capital Lilongwe, the Malawi National Olympic Committee is responsible for the country's participation in the Commonwealth Games and Commonwealth Youth Games and was formally recognised in 1968.

Olympic & Commonwealth Games Association of Malawi© Getty Images

Capital - Lilongwe
Population - 14,846,000
Time Zone - GMT +02:00
Language - English, Chichewa, Bantu Languages
Currency - Malawian Kwacha (MK)


Olympic & Commonwealth Games Association of Malawi



PO Box 867
Tel: + (265) 1 872 017
Fax: + (265) 1 872 017

President Oscar Kanjala
Secretary General Mr. Jappie Mhango