Commonwealth Games FederationCommonwealth Games Federation


Malaysia joined the Commonwealth in 1957 and made their debut in the 1966 Commonwealth Games in Kingston, Jamaica at which they won a total of 5 medals.

Lying north of the equator and Singapore in South East Asia and south of Thailand, Malaysia has taken part in all Commonwealth Games since their debut, bar the 1986 edition in Edinburgh.

Malaysia has won medals in every Games that they have attended, with particular successes in Badminton. Their biggest haul of gold and silver medals however came in 1998 when Kuala Lumpur, the capital, became the first Asian city to host the Commonwealth Games. At the 2010 Games in Delhi Malaysia won a total of 36 medals, 12 of these were gold.

Recognition of the country's National Olympic Committee came in May 1954, although the Olympic Council of Malaysia (OCM) was not formed until 5 May 1963. Today, the OCM is responsible for Malaysia's participation in the Commonwealth Games, Commonwealth Youth Games and Olympic Games.

Olympic Council of Malaysia© Getty Images

Capital - Kuala Lumpur
Population - 27,014,000
Time Zone - GMT +08:00
Language - Malay, English, Chinese
Currency - Ringgit Malaysia (RM)


Olympic Council of Malaysia



Mezzanine Floor
Wisma OCM
Jalan Hang Jebat
50150 Kuala Lumpur
Tel: + (603) 2715 2802/03/04
Fax: + (603) 2715 2801

President HRH Prince Imran
Hon Secretary Dato Sieh Kok Chi