Commonwealth Games FederationCommonwealth Games Federation


The Federal Republic of Nigeria joined the Commonwealth in 1960 (suspended during the 1995-99 period). Bordering Benin, Cameroon, Niger and Chad this hugely populated nation lies on the Gulf of Guinea.

Nigeria made it's debut in the Games in 1950 winning a silver in the Mens High Jump competition. Medal success has been achieved in every Games that they have taken part in with Victoria in 1994 being the most successful to date with thirty seven podium places bringing eleven gold, thirteen silver and thirteen bronze. Success has traditionally come in six sporting disciplines with athletics and boxing being good sources of medals. At the 2006 Games in Melbourne the Nigerians took home seventeen medals with three of their four gold medals won by Para Sport athletes. Success continued in Delhi in 2010 with a haul off thirty three medals, eleven of which were gold. Para Sport events continued to be a good source for medals including trifectas in the Mens and Womens Powerlifting Bench Press events.

The country's National Olympic Committee was established in 1951 and they have responsibility for organising Nigeria's participation in the Commonwealth Games and Commonwealth Youth Games.

Nigeria Olympic Committee© Getty Images

Capital - Abuja
Population - 151,212,000
Time Zone - GMT +01:00
Language - English, Hausa, Yoruba, Igbo
Currency - Naira (N)


Nigeria Olympic Committee



PO Box 3156
Tel: + (234 1) 585 0529
Tel: + (234 1) 474 4604
Fax: +(234 1) 585 0530

President: Engr. Habu Gumel
Secretary General: Hon. Babatunde Popoola