Commonwealth Games FederationCommonwealth Games Federation


Scotland is located in northern Europe and is bounded by the North Sea, the Atlantic Ocean and England. It is around half the size of England, but most of its landmass is comprised of moorlands, mountains and about 800 islands.

From their debut in 1930 Commonwealth Games in Hamilton when they were represented by 15 athletes the Scots have taken part in every Games since, winning medals every time they have participated. At the 2010 Games in Delhi the Scots took home a total of 26 medals, 9 of which were gold.

Edinburgh became the first city to hold the Games twice in 1970 and 1986 and also became the first city to host the Youth Games. In 2000, they inaugurated the 'Millennium' Commonwealth Youth Games which is now held every four years. Scotland will host the Games for a third time when Glasgow welcomes athletes and officials to the XXth Commonwealth Games which will be held from 23rd July - 3rd August 2014. 

Scottish Commonwealth Games champions include boxer Dick McTaggart, sprinter Allan Wells, distance runner Liz McColgan, cyclist Chris Hoy and swimmer David Wilkie - all of whom won Olympic medals. Multiple diving gold medallist Sir Peter Heatly contributed even further by managing Scottish teams and later chairing the Commonwealth Games Federation. 

The Commonwealth Games and the Commonwealth Youth Games are the only multi sport events where Scotland competes as a nation and responsibility for organising their participation sits with Commonwealth Games Scotland (CGS).

Commonwealth Games Scotland© Getty Images

Capital - Edinburgh
Population - 5,200,000
Time Zone - GMT +00:00
Language - English, Gaelic
Currency - Pound Sterling


Commonwealth Games Scotland



Gannochy Sports Centre
University of Stirling
Tel: + (44) 1786 466 480
Fax: + (44) 1786 466 481

Chairperson Paul Bush OBE
Chief Executive Jon Doig OBE

Twitter: @team_scotland