Commonwealth Games FederationCommonwealth Games Federation


The Republic of Singapore joined the Commonwealth in 1965 but have had a recognised National Olympic Committee established since 1947/48.

The name Singapore derives from the Sanskrit Singa Pura, 'City of the Lion'. Situated in South East Asia and lying just north of the Equator, Singapore is seperated from Peninsular Malaysia by the narrow Johor Straits.

Singapore has taken part in every Games since their debut in 1950 with Delhi in 2010 being their most impressive appearance in terms of medals, 10 gold (table tennis and shooting), 12 silver and 8 bronze.

The Singapore National Olympic Committee is responsible for their country's participation in the Commonwealth Games and Commonwealth Youth Games.

Singapore National Olympic Council© Getty Images

Capital - Singapore
Population - 4,737,000
Time Zone - GMT +08:00
Language - Chinese, Malay, Tamil, English
Currency - Singapore Dollar (S$)


Singapore National Olympic Council



2nd Storey, West Wing (Singapore Sports Council Building)
230 Stadium Boulevard
Singapore 397799
Tel: +(65) 6345 9273
Fax: +(65) 6345 9274

President Mr TAN Chuan-Jin
Secretary Gen. Mr Christopher Chan Seng Heng