Commonwealth Games FederationCommonwealth Games Federation


The Kingdom of Tonga, known as 'The Friendly Islands', joined the Commonwealth in 1970. It lies within the central south-west pacific and it's islands straddle the international date line.

Tonga made their debut in the 1974 Games in Christchurch, New Zealand. Their first medal came at the 1994 Games in Victoria when Paea Wolfgramm took home a weightlifting bronze. He then went onto win a silver medal at the Atlanta Olympic Games in 1996. At the 2010 Games in Delhi, Tonga won 2 bronze medals in boxing.

The Tonga Association of Sports (TASA) was created in 1961 in order to take part in the first South Pacific Games, held in Fiji in 1963. It was recognised as a National Olympic Committee in 1984 so that Tonga could take part in the Los Angeles Olympic Games held that same year.

The Tonga Association of Sports and National Olympic Committee (TASANOC) is responsible for it's country's participation in the Commonwealth Games and the Commonwealth Youth Games.

Tonga National Olympic Committee© Getty Images

Capital - Nuku'alofa
Population - 104,000
Time Zone - GMT +13:00
Language - Tongan, English
Currency - Pa'anga (T$)


Tonga National Olympic Committee



PO Box 1287, Haveluloto,
Vaha'akolo Road
Nuku'alofa Kingdom of Tonga
Tel: + (676) 24661
Fax:+ (676) 24127

President Lady Robyn Tu’ivakano (Joyce Robyn Kaho)
Secretary General Takitoa Taumoepeau (President)