Commonwealth Games FederationCommonwealth Games Federation

Oath & Award

After the Federation’s Ceremonial Flag has been raised at each Opening Ceremony, to symbolise the opening of a Commonwealth Games, a representative of the athletes of the host country takes their place on the tribune of honour, accompanied by the flag bearer of his or her country and pronounces the following ‘Oath’ on behalf of all the competitors:

"We declare that we will take part in the Commonwealth Games in the spirit of true sportsmanship, recognising the rules which govern them and desirous of participating in them for the honour of our Commonwealth and for the glory of sport."

The ‘Athletes Oath’ has been pronounced by butterfly swimmers at the last two Commonwealth Games; in Manchester 2002 by James Hickman and in Melbourne 2006 by Adam Pine, who had won medals for Australia at the previous three Commonwealth Games.

At the Closing Ceremony of every Commonwealth Games the CGF President makes an award and presents a trophy to one athlete who has competed with particular distinction and honour both in terms of athletic performance and overall contribution to his or her team.

Athletes are nominated by their Commonwealth Games Association at the end of the final day of competition and the winner is selected by a panel comprising the CGF President and representatives from each of the six Commonwealth Regions.

The ‘David Dixon Award’ as it is called was introduced in Manchester 2002, after the late David Dixon, former Honorary Secretary of the CGF, in honour of his monumental contribution to Commonwealth sport for many years.

Table showing the past winners of the David Dixon Award
Games Athlete Country Sport
Glasgow 2014 Francesca Jones Wales Rhythmic Gymnastics
Delhi 2010 Trecia Smith Jamaica Triple Jump
Melbourne 2006 Samaresh Jung India Shooting
Manchester 2002 Natalie Du Toit South Africa Swimming

© Getty Images